tweaking the meal plan

I’m starting to think I have too many sugars in my current meal plan selections (milk, yogurt, fruit).  My goal for the next seven days, including today, is to increase my vegetable intake.  I have a good menu planned for today and will continue to refine it daily to lean more on vegetables and beans, and less on yogurt and fruit.  I’ll have yogurt in moderation and fruit as a ‘dessert’ of sorts.

Today C. emailed me panicked by a lunch meeting at a local golf course restaurant.  The menu is awful.  Fried this, pasta and sauce…glop, glop, glop!  I have to say I feel sad thinking about how eager I have been to eat there – the buttery toast, the large servings, the loads of toppings.  I’m sad because I didn’t know that even with the best offerings, I still wasn’t going to get any skinnier eating anything there. 

I’m not sure what’s going on with me, but the ‘eye of truth’ is actively working on me today.  Just like in other areas of my life, I finally see the truth.  For all my exercising and ‘dieting’, I’ve never just done the basics – eating whole grains, fruits, vegetables, protein, and dairy in a sensible, beneficial way.  I also see that everything around me is poison and I’ve got to let it go – the donuts at work, the fast food/restaurant options, the ‘treat’s every day to soothe life’s stresses.  I will never be thin on a path that includes these things.  If I don’t change paths, my weight won’t change.

I’m not sure why the Fat Smash Diet is speaking to me, but it is proving to be a good tool for evolving my way of eating.  I’m not there yet, but I see a definite path I can follow as a lifestyle in the long term.  Just the idea that I want to shift to more vegetables is revolutionary thinking.  I’m by no means ‘changed’.  What I am is enlightened enough to know I need to continue walking down the path I’m on, one day at a time.

Explore posts in the same categories: health

Tags: , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

3 Comments on “tweaking the meal plan”

  1. The Planner Says:

    I am so impressed with your progress so far. Success on a diet or regimen has as much to do with changing our thinking about food as with what we stuff in our gaping maws.

    I know you think you’re not “changed,” but I think your enlightenment is revolutionary. You are on the right path and, here is the great secret, it’s easy from here.

    Seriously, you have just done the hard part. Now, just keep going!

  2. The Planner Says:

    I do have a food recommendation for you. Low-fat kefir is lower in sugar than the equivalent milk or yogurt. I buy the Lifeway plain and blend it with nuts and frozen blueberries or just stir in some cinnamon. It’s tangy and thicker than milk, but thinner than yogurt. I’ve been drinking it for years on the advice of Dr. Perricone with his whole anti-aging thing. I think Greek yogurt is also lower in sugar than regular yogurt.

  3. TwentyTwo Says:

    Thank you so much for the support and the tips. It’s amazing how ‘ignorant’ I am about food. I walked around Central Market yesterday just in awe of the world of food I’ve ignored.


Leave a Reply

