dry braidout

I am so in love with the effects of a dry braidout. My friend C. wore her hair like this (not sure if she did her styling wet or dry) and it was gorgeous!

So imagine how happy I was to find someone who’s posted their routine for this style and pictures showing the results. Beautiful!

dry braidout

dry braidout

I’ve always been concerned about whether I could achieve a wet braidout. Nice to see such beautiful results on dry hair. I think I like it better.

Posted on Honey Brown Sugar, Reposted from The Write Curl Diary.

1. I did a clarifying wash (Suave), in-shower conditioner (Aussie Moist) and deep conditioning treatment (Lustrasilk Mango Shea Butter Cholesterol)

2. Sectioned the hair and applied Cantu Shea Butter Leave In Treatment. I really doused my ends with this stuff.

3. Blowdried by section on warm setting. This was the hardest part. I have not blowdried my hair in months and it’s grown a LOT. I was sweating and my arms were sore by the time I was done šŸ˜¦

4. I parted it down the middle and did about 8 cornrows- each one starting from the middle of my head (as opposed to straightbacks). As I sectioned each piece to braid it, I didn’t make a defined part because this tends to leve those annoying parts when you take it out. I put some shea butter on each piece and Herbal Essences Long Term Relationship Leave In on the ends. I put a small sating roller on the end of each braid. When I took it out in the morning, I was ready to go. I just shook it out a bit and sprayed it with coconut/avocado oil.

I think the following things really made this work:
*Setting Lotion: I braided the hair dry (about 8 braids), but once all of the braids were done, I sprayed each braid with setting lotion from top to bottom. Not too much! Just a little. I think this really “set” the waves.

*Let it Marinate. I washed, blowdried and braided my hair early on Sunday, so it had all day and night to set before taking it out on Monday morning.

*Herbal Essences Long Term Relationship Leave In for Ends. I cannot say enough about this stuff! It really kept my ends from coming out all funky looking. It always keeps them smooth and cooperative.

Explore posts in the same categories: Hair

Tags: ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

