interesting

Never for the life of me will I ever understand people who want to be in  your world, but bring nothing to it.

Once upon a time I embarked on a relationship with someone.  She moved to town and as a favor to a friend, I welcomed her and offered myself as a friend.  Over time, I started to realize that she chose a circle of friends that didn’t include me.  No problem there, but then this weird thing seemed to start happening.  She started picking up my friends and pushing to be invited to things I know about, but a funny thing became apparent – she never invited me anywhere.

Hmm.  It’s the strangest thing to sit across from a person and they tell you all the fabulousness of their lives, but they never think to invite you to as much as a happy hour, BUT they want to be invited to your fabulous life.  I don’t get that.

So I have moved on, but every few weeks she pops up with the idea that we should go out for sushi or something.  I just think why?  I only seem to be a person you use to identify job leads or event leads.  She offers nothing…zero.  So why use my precious time to play the game?  I know there are different friends in your life, I just can’t think of one who only comes into my life to pick my brain, but offers nothing in return.

I hate to dismiss anyone, but I just don’t see keeping people around who aren’t adding value or history.  All she seems to be adding is this weird buzzard-like picking of my life.

Explore posts in the same categories: life

Tags:

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

