wardrobe challenge

I started a wardrobe challenge in November to see if I could go a month without wearing the same thing twice.  I wanted to push myself to break out of the same old thing week after week and to force myself to dig deep into my closet to find things I haven’t figured out how to make work.  I am now well into December and I have not worn the same thing more than once!

Now this doesn’t mean I can’t wear pieces more than once.  I don’t have a room for a closet!  I just can’t wear the same thing the same way.  For the most part, I’ve only done a few repeat of tops (with different bottoms or jackets/cardigans).  Overall I have managed to wear a completely different look, and pretty consistently a different top every day for the past 43 days! 

Just this morning I found a sweater in the bottom of my closet – with the tag still on it! – that I haven’t worn because I hadn’t figured out a way to wear it.  It’s wool and it itches, but today I finally thought hard enough on it to pull out a t-shirt to wear under it.  Now I’m cute in my gray turtleneck, slightly cowled sweater!  Here’s my list of outfits.  I keep saying I’m ready to start over, but I keep discovering (old) new things in my closet and I am really into figuring out how to do the same old thing a new way!

Wardrobe Challenge List

Starting November 2, 2009 (some days are skipped because they weren’t noteworthy – like Saturdays when I only dressed to go to the grocery store, lol).

  1. Brown cowl neck sweater, brown shimmer bootcut slacks, brown and gold feather bangle, large gold earrings, brown boots
  2. Black open cardigan, white t-shirt, gray slacks, black boots
  3. Black sheer boatneck top with white floral design, black slacks, black boots
  4. Gray argyle sweater, gray slacks, black flats
  5. Purple cowl neck top, black slacks, black boots, silver jewelry, big hoops
  6. Black t-shirt, Gray open cardigan, dark wash Bandolino jeans with pockets, black wedge boots (need inserts), silver accessories
  7. Blue dress, brown print, oatmeal cardigan, nude heels, gold fortune cookie earrings
  8. Black t-shirt, dark wash jeans, tan and dark gray snake print scarf, black ballet shoes
  9. White and black print silk top, black slacks, black pumps
  10. Brown sweater, blue/green/brown tank, brown slacks, brown loafers, blue earrings
  11. Repeat of #5
  12. Gray argyle cardigan with pink and white, black tank, dark jeans, black ballet flats, silver jewelry
  13. Red t-shirt, dark wash jeans, white Pumas, silver initial necklace, silver hoops
  14. Brown tank dress, oatmeal cardigan, brown Tahari sandals, brown and cream bead earrings
  15. Black and white jacket, black slacks, black mock turtleneck, black boots
  16. Red cowl neck sweater, gray slacks, black ‘vintage’ boots, gold hoops
  17. Banana Republic oatmeal cardigan, brown long sleeve t-shirt, brown slacks, brown boots, gold hoop earrings
  18. Gray argyle cardigan with hot pink and white, black shirt, black slacks, black pumps, silver hoops, silver bracelet
  19. Gray sweatsuit, black tank, white pumas, silver accessories
  20. Black silk tunic, dark fitted jeans, black boots, silver hoops and bracelet
  21. Brown corduroy jacket, gold shell, blue jeans, black boots, gold bracelet, gold hoops
  22. Black open cardigan, white tank, jeans, purple suede flats
  23. Black turtleneck, gray open cardigan, dark jeans, black suede wedges
  24. Brown cowlneck sweater (open weave), brown slacks, brown loafers, gold accessories
  25. Purple sweater, black slacks, black boots (need scarf)
  26. Banana Republic oatmeal cardigan, brown long sleeve t-shirt, dark jeans with pockets, brown boots, gold hoop earrings (great for weekends)
  27. Blue studded top, dark blue jeans, black boots, gold hoops
  28. Oatmeal cardigan, white t-shirt, brown slacks, camel and cream scarf, black boots, gold earrings
  29. Black and white print silk top, black cardigan, black slacks, black boots, silver hoops
  30. Repeat of #26
  31. Gray sweater, white shell, dark jeans, black suede wedges
  32. Pink sweater jacket, black turtleneck, gray slacks, black boots, silver jewelry
  33. Red wool jacket, gray turtleneck, gray slacks, black boots, silver jewelry
  34. Gray sweater, black turtleneck, black slacks, black boots, silver jewelry
  35. Red cowl neck sweater, black jeans, black boots, silver jewelry
  36. Gray turtleneck sweater, grays lacks, black boots, large silver hoops, silver bracelet
Explore posts in the same categories: Fashion

Tags: ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

