hair journey

My hair journey is back on track!  After the braids fiasco, I almost felt like I started over with the natural hair phase.  I’d fully grown out my relaxed hair back in October, but I think my beautician kept thinking I had relaxed ends because my hair was straight at the ends *sigh, another story for another day*.  So, she kept cutting my hair in an attempt to remove relaxed ends.  *double sigh*

That’s my take on it any way.  I felt like my hair had grown out and was completely natural for awhile.  Don’t ask me what I knew better than her, but I guess I knew my hair wasn’t going to fit somebody’s mold for black girl hair and from my own experience knew it wasn’t going to be kinky curly to begin with.

After the braids were removed in January, I think my beautician accepted that my hair was completely natural.  Without having any heat for 2 or 3 weeks, my hair was clearly all one texture, generally speaking.  Despite it all, I felt like my hair was a mess and got one more cut that was so daggone severe I couldn’t even get my hair pressed.  *triple sigh*

After that cut, I was done.  I think I have a phobia now, lol.  So for the past month, I’ve been rocking a super short pixie and getting it pressed (imagine a quick swipe of the comb to avoid it being too hot on my head, lol) at the salon.  I was afraid I couldn’t style it myself because while the front, sides, and back of my head are probably 2C (it grows in straight at the root,  is wavy and thick/ a little coarse, but blow dries straight and shiney with a little heat protectant; I originally thought it was 3C, but now that it’s grown out it doesn’t curl like I thought, it waves); my crown is definitely 3c.  My crown curls.  I think even as it grows out, it’ll still be a tight poofy curl naturally.   

I thought I wouldn’t be able to get the crown straight enough to match the sides without looking crazy.

A month later, I can now wash my own hair, blow dry it and have it looking almost pressed fresh.  I can’t wait to get some length because I know that will allow me to just wrap my hair.  I can then probably avoid the pressing comb and just use my body heat to smooth my hair and save the pressing comb for special occasions or for when I want extreme moisture protection (my hair won’t revert for nothing when pressed).

So, I’m back on top in the hair journey.  Now my goal is to do nothing but nurture my hair and let it grow.  My products list is short and sweet, but it works, leaving my hair straight and shiny.  I swear by the Giovanni products.  My hair is soft already, but add in this product and it is soft, silky, and moisturized.  Absolutely no frizz or poof.  Very wash and go.  Best of all, I think I see less shedding overall.  It’s so good, I’m tempted to have my beautician use this product on me exclusively.

The Fantasia heat protectant is the final piece of the puzzle for wash and blow hair.  I put it on before blow drying my hair (with a comb attachment) and it’s like the blow dryer is a pressing comb.  I wrap my hair in a scarf – flat iron with the coconut oil – apply regular coconut oil, then wrap again over night and my hair is ‘pressed’ fresh and ready to go.  It’s  a process, but if I do all the steps, my 2c/3c hair coexists on my head beautifully.

Don’t get me wrong, I still want to be a curly girl, but I’m saving that for when I have more length.  I want a b.a.f. (big ass fro), but for now, I’m happily enjoying my straight look and very happy I went natural.  Who knew the relaxer wasn’t doing anything I couldn’t do with a blow dryer?  Granted, when I sweat it’s over (hair goes POOF), lol, but when I reach ponytail length, I’ll be able to combat that too.

Explore posts in the same categories: Hair

Tags: , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

3 Comments on “hair journey”


  1. I live by the Giovanni products as well. Have you tried the leave in conditioner?
    I have yet to blow dry my hair, so I think I may try the Fantasia Hair Polisher heat Protectant you mentioned.
    Thanks and good luck on the hair journey!


  2. oh…I would love to see pictures of your hair!

  3. TwentyTwo Says:

    I haven’t tried the leave-in. I will have to look for it. As for hair pic photos, one day I’ll have my camera working AND my hair looking good enough to show off. lol Right now, it’s just a bad hair cut (picture the formation of a mullet), but I’m not mad because I refuse to cut it any more until the top grows out long enough to form a bob!


Leave a Reply

